I’ll have to write it for myself

Lanterns
I’ve been considering it for a while–starting a real, grown-up blog. I tinkered around in the early days of blogging with an infrequently updated blog in high school, but I’m starting a new venture in this slightly more grown-up stage of life.

Despite spending most of my day writing in my job as a communications coordinator for a nonprofit, I haven’t written much for myself lately, so this is my new effort do to that. Plus blogging is so different now than it was a few years ago (or at least different from how I knew it a few years ago)–such a fun way to share recipes and ideas. Not that I have too many exciting and creative ideas, but I’m looking forward to joining that community and sharing my adventures dabbling in the kitchen and with crafts. Mainly, I’m looking forward to capturing this segment of life and choosing to see things in a joyful way.

Josh Ritter, one of the most talented songwriters creating music these days, has an awesome song called “Lantern” that’s about rallying together as a community. It starts off with a blunt description of what the world can seem like these days:

It’s a hungry world out there
Even the wind will take a bite
I can feel the world circling
Sniffing round me in the night
And the lost sheep grow teeth
Forsake the lambs and lie with the lions

But the tone changes as the song notices the positives of joining together, choosing joy and providing light for each other:

So throw away those lamentations
We both know them all too well
If there’s a book of jubilations
We’ll have to write it for ourselves
So come and lie beside me darling
And let’s write it while we still got time

Every time I listen to this song that line catches me. Since the first time I heard the song, I’ve loved the idea of a book of jubilations. Not that I have anything against the book of Lamentations. In fact, you could make a theological argument that the entire Bible is a book of jubilations when you look at it as a whole. But that’s beside the point.

I’m beginning a journey to create my own book of jubilations to make the most of the joyful moments of life. Feel free to walk alongside me by the light of this lantern.

Photo credit “Lanterns”

Leave a Reply

